Some people think paying taxes is a big enough contribution to their society, while others think people have more responsibilities as members of society than only paying taxes.

It is thought by some that making a big contribution to the society can sufficiently be done just by paying taxes, while others argue that other than paying taxes, there are many more responsibilities which should be fulfilled by people as members of a society. This essay will elaborate both of the views in detail. To begin with, paying taxes is certainly a useful and effective contribution to the society as it will give financial resources to the authority for the development of a country. Since the public budget from the taxes is used in all crucial aspects of a nation, paying taxes is undoubtedly a great contribution for a citizen. Firstly, it is used to develop infrastructures, like constructing streets, hospitals, schools, and public facilities including public telephones, transportations, libraries, amusement parks etc. Furthermore, it is used to pay salaries of civil servants who work for the government and the society. Moreover, it can be used to give public subsidies on education, medical treatment, and fuel prices. Obviously, it is right that from taxes, a government gets necessary budgets which remarkably ease the progress of the country. Yet, to create an exemplary contribution in a society, people are required to take other responsibilities and abide by the rules and laws. Meanwhile, other forms of contributions from citizens are really needed to make some positive changes in a society, particularly in developing countries. Indonesia, for example, as one of the biggest countries consisting of 34 provinces and have more than 200 million people. Such countries direly need involvements of citizens in supporting government initiated programmes, especially by mutual cooperation as a form of contribution. By doing so, people can directly and immediately work together to protect their environment like planting trees and cleaning up their surroundings, as well as protecting the public facilities which are already available. Being a law-abiding citizen means much than paying taxes. To infer, I am convinced that while paying taxes is a useful way to contribute to the society, other social responsibilities have great importance as well.