Some people think one should stay all their life in the same job, whereas others advocate changing jobs from time to time.

Businessman, skilled workers, office employee’s etc. works during their entire life to meet the financial expenses required to raise themselves and support their families. Experience and skill set they develop by working hard is unparalleled which with time results in marvels and is instrumental in the development of the society. Few people believe that one should continue with the existing employer, while others believe that switching jobs make them more competent. This essay will analyse both sides of the argument before presenting an opinion. Few people believe that it is good for the employees to continue working for their current employer throughout their life span. Proponents of this viewpoint believe that senior employees know the operations and functional nature of their job well which can be fruitful for the company. Their seniority and long term association make them entitled to incentives like gratuity, pension, extended leaves, loans and so on which can be of great value in future. Moreover, working with the same company improves employee and employer relationship and they can move through the hierarchy to attain managerial positions often reserved for credible and senior most employees. For instance, during a recession, companies retain their senior workforce and often newly hired staff ar laid off for cost cutting. Furthermore, they are settled in their existing job and switching workplace can disturb their life. There is no harm in continuing with the same job as long as the company is financially stable and an employee is getting the right exposure. On the contrary, another school of thought believes that people should switch workplace once they feel that their career path is getting saturation and they are not learning new skills. Switching jobs, especially during the early phases of career, is instrumental in getting financial boosts as the employee gets more incentives and a better salary structure. Moreover, few multinational companies prefer employees having diversified experience of working in different industries which are vital for their growth. Furthermore, companies feel that an employee is getting more dependent on them and lack the courage and required skills to explore other job opportunities which can be exploited for their own good. To recapitulate, the aforementioned provides plausible arguments in favour of both views. However, I personally believe that one should continue with the same employers as long as they get competitive salary package, exposure, training and opportunity to progress through the hierarchy to attain senior positions.