Some people think one should stay all their life in the same job, whereas others advocate changing jobs from time to time.

An individual spends most of their lifetimes at workplaces. While some people believe that one should be in a same job throughout their life, there are others who think that it is good to switch-over to another job after a certain period. In my view, it should be an individual's choice what they want to do in their lives. Those who are in the favour of staying in a single profession might argue that it is easier to work at the same place. This is because they are familiar with the location as well as comfortable with the colleagues. For instance, my father had worked in the same bank for the whole life because it was easier for him to create a balance between work and home by working there. Moreover, some people resist variations and are not ready to adjust as they think that if they change their work, they have to start from scratch. On the other hand, changing a profession might lead to rapid career progression. In other words, when an employee switches over to another company, then it is a high chance that he/she would get a raised salary or a higher designation in the new organisation. A study conducted by Forbes revealed that employees receive an average pay boost of 10 to 20% when they change their jobs. Therefore, those who stay in a similar occupation are unlikely to get a substantial pay increase. Furthermore, it is a bit boring to spend all-time working at the same place, and this could make these people less competitive than others. In conclusion, it is trouble-free and pleasurable to do a single job whole life; however, moving ahead in career requires adjustments. I believe that individuals should take this decision by considering their preferences.