In Britain, when someone gets old they often go to live in a home with other old people where there are nurses to look after them. Sometimes the government has to pay for this care.

As a part of the population in a country grows older, the issue of who should take care of the old population has been up for debate. Some believe that the family should take care of the old people while others believe that the government should take responsibility for their old citizens. I believe that the government and the family both have equal responsibility towards the aged population and instead of looking at the moral issues; we need to focus on what is better for them. There are many families who are willing but are unable to look after their old parents and relatives due to certain factors such as poor financial situation. On the other hand, we have some families who capable but are just unwilling to look after their old ones due to various reason such as ideological differences etc. In both of those cases, I think it's better for the government to take the responsibility and look after the aged family members since the whole issue is how can we make sure those individuals live their remaining life comfortably. Forcing the families that just can't or aren't willing to look after their old members will only make the situation worse for the people we're trying to help. On the other hand, we have lots of families which are both capable and are more than happy to look after their loved ones once they grow older. Well in those cases, the solution is quite clear and there seems to be no reason for the government to interfere. All in all, I think that the issue of who should look after the old population depends on those factors listed above and our policy must act in the interest of the old population so that they can enjoy their rest of the remaining years of their life.