Some people think it is not necessary for adults to receive education in class. Self-study is a good way for them to study more effectively.

Education is a continuous process and thrust for knowledge is everlasting. Adult education is a controversial issue and some groups of thoughts argue that adults can learn things by themselves and the common mentoring technique in the school is unnecessary for them. Even though classroom learning has its own advantages, I believe the self-study is more beneficial for adults. Obviously, ‘internal motivation and hard working’ is the core in all success stories. Therefore a highly motivated person can learn alone by utilising the advanced technologies. For illustration, online education is a newer trend and even someone working can attend certification course through the Internet. In addition, most of the companies are offering continuing education as part of their working schedules. So workers can improve their knowledge by this without attending regular classroom courses. Furthermore, for an adult, it is cumbersome to get back to a student life in most of the cases. The advancement in technology has made it possible to learn from home and adults do not need teachers to look after their behaviours or discipline them to study. It is a well-known fact that self-learning is the best learning and this is quite applicable for grown up people.   So supporters of this view believe that for grown up people classroom learning is unnecessary and a waste of time. On the other hand, some people believe that education is meaningful only by regular classroom mentoring. Self-motivation is sometimes ineffective and necessitates the teachers for evaluating and guiding them. Moreover, they believe that adult life is different from children because of the internal as well as the external factors affecting their learning process. For instance, adult life is complicated with a lot of responsibilities and tensions. Therefore continuous motivation by an external mentor is inevitable. Online education programs and other continuing career development programs often lack this opportunity and hence this group of people believes that classroom education is the best option for adults. Put everything into consideration both these methods have their own advantages. However, I think that a highly motivated individual can gain knowledge by self-learning and for such adults, self-learning is a far better choice than attending formal educational institutes.