Pollution and other environmental problems are resulting from a country's developing and becoming richer. Some think this cannot be avoided.

Environmental problems and pollutions are often considered to be the direct result of a country’s development. Industrialisation, growing number of factories, people’s capability of purchasing more cars and electronic device etc. are often related to the economic condition and growth of a nation. However, I do not agree that pollution and other environmental problems are caused only because of the economic growth of a country and that this cannot be avoided. First, it does not take an expert to understand that pollution and environmental problems are more prominent in poor countries than that of rich countries. Air, sound and water pollutions in countries like India and Bangladesh are far dangerous than that of developed countries like Australia, Canada and the UK. Furthermore, the number of factories does not represent the amount of pollution it causes. For instance, recent researches have made it clear that only a few garments factories in a country like Bangladesh cause far more damage to the air and water resources than hundreds of bigger industries do in the United States. Second, economic development does not mean that a country will have industries and factories all over the country. Proper planning and inspection from the government can ensure the minimal emission of gas and other toxic elements into the water and air. So even if the industrialisation is imminent for the development of a country, it does not mean that we will have no way to minimise the pollution and environmental issues. For instance, industrialisation does not cause as much deforestation as it is caused by human greed and lack of inspection and law in many countries. Finally, pollution is a global issue and proper law and enforcement of laws can reduce it to a great extent. We cannot stop the natural causes of pollution but the greater percentages of environmental pollutions are caused by the human actions. We should educate people, encourage them and enforce strict laws to save our environment while development of a country has nothing to do with the rampant pollution we can see nowadays in many cities. In conclusion, I would agree that development and industrialisation affect the environment negatively to some extent but this is not the prime factor in polluting our environment. We still have time and lot of options to reduce the pollutions and environmental problems to make the world a better place for the future generation.