Some people think it is better for children to begin to learn a foreign language at primary school than at secondary school. Do you think the advantages outweigh the disadvantages?

It is sometimes argued that teaching a second language to children at primary school has benefits for kids compared to start learning at secondary school. While learning a foreign language at an earlier stage of school has a number of potential demerits for children, personally I believe they are both outweighed and outnumbered by the advantages. This essay will examine the merits and drawbacks of this phenomenon followed by my point of view. On the one hand, starting learning a different language at primary school has several disadvantages for pupils, the most detrimental of which is mixing two languages while they are talking due to the fact that the are also in progress to learn their mother tongue. This leads to being unable to master any of languages, resulting in meaningless sentences which are a combination of two languages. As a consequence, children might lose their linguistic culture. This has been evidenced by numerous academic studies the latest of which is one published by the University of Russia in 2018, concluding that children who begin to learn English at primary school use Russian and English vocabulary in the same sentence which leads losing the meaning of what they try to say. The study further shows that 75% of multi-languages learner children in early age could not learn cultural idioms in their mother tongue which causes miscommunication between them and their parents. On the other hand, teaching the second langıages before secondary school has countless undeniable advantages; chief among them, the fact that they become more efficient in the school owing to the fact that they can learn many things at the same time as the younger brain can absorb everything in a second. This results in gaining effortless knowledge as well as having a less chance to forget the future. According to the latest statistics released by the Young Brains Committee in Sydney in 2019 indicates that 85% of primary school students can learn different languages quicker than secondary school students as their brains are ready to learn new knowledge. Moreover, they tend to forget less vocabulary when they grow up as they have a sound basis. In conclusion, whereas starting learning a foreign language at primary school has potential demerits such as losing the control of languages and linguistic culture, they are undoubtedly eclipsed by benefits which are learned easily and carrying the knowledge of the future.