‘Because so much information is available on the internet today, traditional secondary schools and teachers are no longer necessary. ’

Technological advancement brings about people more easily to get access to acquire knowledge from the internet. There is a tendency to believe that the role of conventional secondary schools and teachers can be replaced by the internet. Yet, I do not agree with the statement as attending school still has its significance. It is beyond question that reading and collecting information are so convenient nowadays. What we learn from schools, such as the language courses as well as other modules like mathematics, history and physics, actually the same if we spend time to google it. The internet indeed provides a useful and effective platform for learning. In reality, the learning outcome of traditional secondary schools is not just acquiring knowledge from textbooks, but also to cultivate a student to be a well-rounded person. In this way, sitting in front of the computer cannot achieve this goal. What I am going to address is not the evaluation of online teaching, but highlighting that secondary schools act like a shadow of the society as there are interactions between different people like their schoolmates and teachers. In addition, there is a better learning experience in schools because students’ interpersonal skills will be trained through communication with others. Traditional schools may exert a high level of pressure to students as they have to finish numerous assignments. In the meantime, it is a good way for them to develop their time management so as to overcome difficulties. Without secondary schools and teachers, students can only know how to use a computer, but lack a chance to communicate with others. There are two faces in a coin. Learning from the internet provides convenience for learning while conventional schools and teachers help students adapt in the society in the future. As the latter one has more advantages, I believe that traditional secondary schools and teachers are still essential in today’s society.