Some people think it is a good idea for university students to have jobs during college. Others think it is a bad idea. Which do you think is better and why?

There is no doubt that the secret of health is following a healthy lifestyle. Some people believe that it is government’s responsibility to ensure that their citizens stay healthy, while others argue that it is the responsibility of the concerned individual. In this essay, we will look into both sides of the argument and provide my support to the latter view. First and foremost, there is no doubt that government play’s a critical role to ensure well being of their citizens. It is always beneficial if the government can support and motivate individuals to pursue a healthy lifestyle. This can be done in several different ways like organizing health camps, subsidizing healthy food, imposing heavy taxes on unhealthy food etc. For instance, in countries like Sweden government offers free health camps to educate people on healthy lifestyle, they also offer subsidy healthy food to encourage citizens. Recently, a third party survey indicated that these initiatives have reduced the number of cases of heart attacks, obesity in Sweden. Considering these points, we can see why people think it’s essential for governments to play and active role to ensure a healthy lifestyle for their citizens. But, a strong argument can be made on the other side. In my view, individuals should be made responsible and accountable for their health. The onus of following a healthy lifestyle should be his/her responsibility. For instance, there are individuals who don’t consider a healthy lifestyle as their priority and don’t even appreciate the fact that following a healthy lifestyle makes them feel better. In all these cases, the initiatives from governments will either be ineffective or bear very less effect. In conclusion, the responsibility of following a healthy lifestyle should rest on individuals, while governments should support and motivate them to do so.