Some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say the study of the past helps us understand the present.

Undoubtedly, history is indispensable part of life. Some people consider that learning history is totally waste of time; however, others opine that history teaches many important things in life which is related to the current era. In this essay, I will discuss both the given statements before reaching to the final verdict. On the one hand, the opponents believe that information about history is not acquire because the events in the past does not have much importance in the present time. In other words, there are numerous dates and events had been taken placed in the past which are not required for day to day. Apart for this, it is difficult to memorize all the historical events that are not longer as equivalent as technology and science. A recent research has been conducted by the Department of History in Harvard University reveals that more than 67% of students opt subjects namely science and technology. The specific reason for this is history content huge date, which is not essential for daily basis. Hence, gaining knowledge about history is mundane task for the people. One the other hand, the supporters who supports history for two reasons. First and foremost reason of inculcating information about culture and tradition from the past. This is because, if the individuals learn more about their customes and tradition values for history, they will able to teach their upcoming generation. To take as an example of India, the celebration of diwali festival remains as same as it had been the past by lighting up lamps in House. A consequence of this people stay connected with their origins. Secondly, to gain adequate knowledge about the past inventions and innovatives. Since the ancient inventions teache new strategies and techniques to the people, that can be implement in new models for advancement. For instance, in the past bulbs were consumed only electricity, whereas now the same bulbs run on solar energy. The result of this the products are fabricated in different ways as per requirement. Thus, history helps in obtaining information about cultures and at the same time it also provides knowledge about technology. In conclusion, it has been a debatable issue whether history has its significance in human's life or not. Dispite of this, from my perspective, history is essential part, not only it gives wide range of information about the once traditions and customs, but also data about old technology which can be modify with help of new technologies for the betterment of mankind.