some people think history has little or nothing to offer, while others say that the study of past helps understand the present. give your opinion on both views.

There is a difference of opinion on whether studying facts about the past has anything to do with present or not. While some people opine that it is imperative to study the past in order to better understand current situations, others feel it is a complete waste of time. I, however have a firm conviction that there are many benefits of studying history. Firstly, the people of the ancient world have made many advancements in many fields, including science, medicine, engineering and so on. Whatever technology we use today, the treatments we have access to have their roots in the past. Forget about everything else, let's take an example of ancient civilizations such as Mohenjo-daro. Historians found through long time research that it was a well developed world which got destroyed due to unknown reasons. Other than that studying history about a particular religion or language will help us understand their cultures in a better way. People who argue against studying past feel that the time that is gone will never come back and we should be more focused on the future. The time that we spend digging out past can be better utilized for making advancements in science, inventing new gadgets. In conclusion, it is every person's personal choice whether they want to study history or not. There are strong opinions on both sides of the argument, yet I disagree with the above notion.