Some people think giving time to career improvement is more important, others believe giving time to family and friends is more important.

The argument, over whether more time should be allocated to a career or to kith and kin, has not been settled yet. It is often argued by some that spending more time for a better future is imperative to have a luxurious life. Meanwhile, others still claim that quality time with family is important for a breakthrough from a monotonous routine. This essay will explore both sides of the arguments before reaching a logical opinion. On the one hand, the supporters of the idea that extended time for a career is essential believe that a successful career brings prosperity in life. When a person earns a hefty amount of money, he would have all facilities in life as compared to others. Take an example of a survey report published in the Daily Times revealed that lives of employees, who are doing overtime are more fulfilling as compared to the regular workers. Thus, to some extent, staying more determinant for career improvement brings betterment in life. While on the other hand, the advocates of the view that being more in the company of loved ones believe that it is important to refresh mind after a hectic routine. Since following a same routine for a long time can cause exhaustion, so friends and family can give relief from work related issues. For instance, a study conducted in Australia concluded that people who stay with family for longer duration are more enthusiastic and motivated at work place. Hence, giving more time to family bring peace of mind. Whereas, I believe that a balance should be maintained between both to get benefit. Spending excessive time at work can cause burnout, while staying more with family and friends can cause financial crisis. Therefore, time should be wisely managed between both of them. To sum up, from my perspective, both contain equally important because family and friends can give emotional comfort and career improvement gives a quality lifestyle.