Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bars.

People who commit crimes deserve to be punished so that they don't repeat the crime. Many people believe that instead of putting every prisoner behind the bars, some should be made to do unpaid community service, and I tend to agree with them. In this essay, I am going to support my view with relevant examples. Firstly, people who commit petty crimes such as robbery of food should be made to take part in community service. This is because the crime is not harmful to others and community service can help them realize their mistakes. For example, doing community service one may encounter several people and understand how hard everyone works to sustain themselves. This can help them in developing empathy towards others which can result in a reduced crime rate and a safer nation. On the other hand, if the ones who commit these petty crimes are sent to jail, they may be influenced by other criminals. For instance, a burglar, who only steals from small shops, can be influenced by others about the money involved in robbing banks. It can lead to the individual committing more serious crimes once they are released from prison thus increasing the crime rate. To conclude, although criminals should be punished, the punishment should be based on the crime an individual commits. In my view, the advantages of developing empathy and the reduced influence of other criminals due to community service can help in reducing the crime rate and is the best possible solution.