Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

In recent decades, the idea of allowing criminals to carry out unpaid social work, namely cleaning garbages and cultivating trees, as opposed to standing behind bars has gained in publicity, creating tension in the public. While many maintain that this is an effective way to bring them back to the life, I assert that criminals will take advantage of this to commit again. Admittedly, the option to enable prisoners to help community brings several positive effects such as awareness of money and skills, which will be further discussed. For one thing, people who commit a crime will have their own skills after doing suitable jobs including cleaning street or cultivating trees. According to a survey in Ho Chi Minh city in 2019 by local police offices, for instance, they found that not only adapted criminals with a present life after being released the jail but they also made a fortune by their own skills after doing community work. Another thing, working in difficult conditions assists criminals in understanding how hard do other individuals earn money. Therefore, this raises their awareness of money, which abandons their stealing behaviours. On the other hand, It is still likely that individuals who carry out a crime may have a few pitfalls. Firstly, local people will not feel peaceful when they suffer from criminals on a daily basis. In this way, If prisoners carry out by their side, they have possibility to hurt or even worse kill whether those no longer have a reason to live. Secondly, individuals who carry out a crime are likely to escape from police’s control. Perhaps the best example of this would be Ha who is a serious criminal in the VietNam If the police office has not allowed him to work in the public, he would not dig a small tunnel to run away from them because of lacking their strict controls To recapitulate briefly, some reckon that prisoners ought to be given an opportunity to undertake in the community rather than putting them in the jail. I highly believe that when they work in a place in which have strict controls from policies, they will learn a myriad of skills for themselves and arrange a new life after being released.