Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind the bar.

Some individuals maintain that not all offenders should sentencing their punishment in jail, instead they can be used as unpaid labour force that would benefit community. I absolutely agree with this point of view due to the fact that some felons who committed nonviolent crime are not dangerous for public and can be used for public needs. Moreover, less tax money would be spent on them if they will be convicted of non-custodial sentences. Firstly, it may be suggested that some classes of prisoners, such as thieves, fraudsters and young criminals who have been sentenced for nonviolent offences, are not a threat for the people surrounding them. These offenders are usually able to perform some community work that does not require special education or qualification without being paid in order to compensate damage to the society. Not only is it beneficial for community, but this approach is also less traumatic for criminals and gives them an opportunity to rehabilitate faster without being deprived of their families. Secondly, every incarcerated felon costs a significant amount of money to the budget due to the fact that it is the government who has to provide them with food, medical service and other basic needs for incarceration time. For instance, in the United States spend approximately 25000$ per inmate. I am convinced that by making prisoners do unpaid work for their communities without putting them behind bars, it is possible to preserve huge amount of money that can be used on community needs and rehabilitation process for the offender itself. In conclusion, I am of the opinion that some prisoners can benefit the society if they work for free for their communities instead of serving a sentence in jail. In addition to helping communities to spend less taxes on prisons maintaining, this strategy would help convicted offenders to return to normal life faster.