Some people think certain prisoners should be made to do unpaid community work instead of being put behind bars.

The most of the people believe that a part of the prisoners should work for free in their community instead of just serving their time in jail. As I see it, it would be an occasion for them to prove that they are trying to change while being behind bars, gaining at the same time the community's approval. Nowadays, many conservative parties are pressing the European governments to pass certain laws in order to make prisoners' life tougher. Their point of view is that jail is not a prize, but it must be a punishment. I partially agree with them as I think that prisoners, who have been sentenced for crimes such as murder, should not have a second opportunity. As prison is a re-educative structure, it becomes necessary not to worse all prisoners' condition, thus it would be great if they couòd start working while being inside the jails' facilities. Being occupied by a job during the day means less stimuli of violence among prisoners and moreover it could lead them to a brighter future once they finish their sentence. There are relevant studies in this field which show a positive correlation between working and the index of violence of the prisons. This evidence establishes that it may be a good practice that many penitentiaries should follow. Another advantage is that these people would learn something useful that may result in a new job when they will be released. This means that prisons will have achieved their mission of re-educative process for their inmates. To sum up, it is true that there could be some disadvantages by letting prisoners work, but without shadow of doubt, it is clear that positive sides of this practice overcome negative ones. I am certain of the fact that in the future the number of prisons following this path will grow and the prisoners' communities will experience a renewal.