In some countries an increasing number of people are suffering from health problems as a result of eating too much fast food. it is therefore necessary for governments to impose a higher tax on this kind of people. To what extent do you agree or disagree?

It is observed that in a few countries, a large number of people are facing health-related issues due to consumption of fast food. However, to solve this problem, posing higher tax by the government on junk food is not a solution, and definitely not a necessity. In my opinion, imposing huge tax is only going to increase the burden on people, especially the lower and middle class. Moreover, this is a negative enforcement that may go against the decision as someone who still wishes to eat it will pay the tax and yet consume the junk. Imposing huge tax on junk food will elevate the ongoing misery of tax and affect the common man largely as he is already paying multiple taxes, example: tax on salary earned, using restaurants, shopping, etc. Tax, according to me is going to work against as one needs to be self-conscious about one’s health. Like the government had ruled out the harsh punishment from school: hitting students that used to happen earlier. It also started allowing learners to move to higher grades till grade 8 to reduce increasing suicidal cases. Why did the government take this decision? This is only because this was a creating negativity. Hence, I strongly feel that the decision of a higher tax on junk food consumption is just going to be another wasteful solution. Hence the government should think of a positive motivator instead. Another vital factor to consider here is even if a high tax is levied on intake of junk food, someone who wishes to have it or is addicted to it will still pay that high tax and continue to have the same. This tax might only be like giving away a drop of water from the sea for the elite class. How is it putting a stop to the consumption of junk food? It will not! Instead, creating awareness among the people of the country through campaigns in schools, societies, and advertisements will be beneficial. This will educate people who are inclined to eat junk food and also protect the ones who are not on the path as yet. In conclusion, health is vital, however charging high tax on junk food is not an apt solution, instead the government must think on creative ways to look into this serious matter.