Some people say to be happy, you must have a job you love doing. Others say that other factors are more important. Do you think people can only be happy if they have a job they really enjoy?

Work is an indispensable part of our everyday lives and the question of being contented at work has been discussed for years through history. While some might argue that the possibility to do what we love is the only way to achieve this state of mind, I do believe that a variety of other equally vital factors all contribute to this desirable aim. In my opinion, I can understand why happiness at work is directly linked to being able to do a job that you love doing. In the workplace, people are always expected to work under intense pressure and carry out numerous tasks and assignments. If an employee doesn’t love what he or she is doing, it seems impossible for them to continue their work at a high level of productivity. For example, working with children is always a challenging job, especially as they misbehave or try to push boundaries. Without interests and patience, a teacher would not have enough motivation to do their occupation on a daily basis. However, I must argue that contentedness in the workplace could also be achieved a range of other factors including finance and self-development. Firstly, if a worker couldn’t earn enough to meet his fundamental needs such as paying bills, food or putting his kids to school, it is absolutely absurd to continue his enjoyable low-paid job, especially in a time of economic crisis. My sister, for instance, who used to work as a nurse at a local hospital, decided to surrender her dream work due to low level of monthly income. Secondly, having opportunities to progress and gradually fulfill essential skills like time management or collaboration will ensure the promotion in career as well as safeguard people from redundancy, thus guarantee happiness in the long term. In conclusion, it appears that doing a job that you desire is not the only means of feeling contented at work as we consider other elements of wages and self-improvement.