News stories on TV and in newspapers are very often accompanied by pictures. Some people say that these pictures are more effective than words. What is your opinion about this?

Many sources of media now use pictures to convey the news. Some people believe that these images are more effective than words. In my opinion, I agree that pictures are better to get the message across. One of the many benefits of photos are that It further substantiate the news by providing the evidence. As people nowadays are very critical about everything, so they need strong supportive visual representation in order to believe in some story. As a result, pictures with any news article strengthen the credibility of it. For instance, any earthquake or natural disaster news is accompanied by the photos of mass destruction, which can make rest of the population to feel how big calamity it was. Also, it will help them sympathize with their fellow brothers. Furthermore, in today's fast world, people do not have enough time to go through the whole article. Therefore, a photograph or a graphical representation can easily convey the required message without the need of many words. For instance, a line graph of economic growth over the years can be easier for a layman to comprehend. Also, some images or photographs can be used to gain the attention of people towards the news. Such as, some news channels compete to get the first exclusive picture of any event, like an award show or movie premiere or any social event, so that they can have audience attention. In conclusion, with the invent of cameras and camera phones, photographs have become a vital part of news telling because they add value to the story and are. Although, words can never be replaced, in my opinion, images are now more effective for news media.