it is suggested that everyone should have a car, a television and a fridge. Do disadvantages of this development for society outweigh advantages?

Some people believe that it is necessary for each person to possess an item of some fundamental needs for travelling, entertainment and food storage. Although some clear benefits of such development could be seen, they are, in my view, eclipsed by the considerable drawbacks. There are several advantages of having a private car, TV and fridge. First of all, people who need to travel on a daily basis, especially those who live far away from workplace, could stay active all the time thanks to the availability of their personal vehicle. Secondly, having a TV could be a perfect choice of recreation because it offers a a variety of channels, such as Cartoon Network or HBO, to satisfy viewers’ personal preferences. Finally, when in possession of a fridge, people would save a significant amount of time supposedly spent on shopping for food. However, the disadvantages of those personal possessions are much greater regarding both environmental and individual levels. To start with, hypothetically if everyone had his own private form of transport, particularly cars, the emission of harmful exhaust which would be too difficult to measure would do grave harm to the environment. From an individual perspective, it would cost a legacy if every person insisted on purchasing his own fridge and TV. This is because property prices would certainly accelerate owing to the growth in customers’ demand for those commodities. Also of great concern is the payment of expensive electric bills as fridges have to be plugged in all the time. In conclusion, despite a few beneficial aspects of having a car, a TV and a fridge, the demerits are of greater significance from both individual and environmental angles.