Some people say that time and money spent on music classes in schools are not necessary. Instead, children should be learning useful subjects such as science and computers.

Gone are the days when schools were only meant for study. Now children have a wide variety of additional classes available in schools such as music. Undeniably, some people believe that these activities serve no useful purpose, but I fully dissent with this argument. The very first reason for this lack of consensus is that they are the boon for unprivileged children. Almost everywhere there are children from such section of society, which cannot afford such pleasures outside school premises due to the associated cost. Take an example of wards of lower income demographics in developing nations; they hardly have money to shell out for these kinds of programs. Therefore, such facilities will help them pursue their aspirations in music, sports etcetera. Another factor that favours such extra activities is that they help pupils to relax. They already have so much to combat in their curriculum in order to stay ahead in this world of cut-throat competition that it will be wrong to snatch this little time from them for studying same subjects like computers and science again. It has been proven by research that students perform better if they are allowed to follow their passion side by side. In crux, I would say that devoting time to music, sports and so on in schools cannot be called sheer wastage of times since it can help the children of poor citizens to follow their desire to learn something apart from studies. Moreover, they provide a great relief to all the students from the monotonous schedule of studies.