Some people say that the purpose of education is to prepare individuals to be useful to society. Others say its purpose is to prepare individuals to achieve personal ambitions.

In current years, the aim of pursuing higher education has been widely a fashionable trend. Some people believe that education lays on the aim of preparing individuals to serve the society. While some others assert that education conducts personal goal. Indeed, these issues emerges a fierce debate. As regards for this case, I will scrutinise both views along with related examples. To begin with, the idea that every living individual belongs to the more complex group is a very basic concept which shapes any aspect of human life including education. This further becomes a framework of education nurturing people in the sake of emerging positive impact to the broad communities. In this regards, as a part of the society, individuals are responsible for contributing their knowledge they have acquired. Subsequently, it is strongly assumed that knowledge without devotion is such a meaningless sense in any variant of ways. It is the sense of devotion which encourage individuals to achieve their education for the sake of benefiting others. Furthermore, the national government urges the schools to enrich the pupils with the sense of nationalism where the citizen has to put public necessity over personal need. A very good example is Indonesian Government requires schools to provide nationality subject in elementary and junior high schools. In contrast, obtaining individual ambition should remain as the purpose of education particularly in the modern age. As is it widely acknowledged that individualism becomes a major trend where people put aside social aspect. Undoubtedly, modern lifestyle propels people to seek their own desire of how their education should be aimed to. Moreover, the belief that people must fulfil their own need plays an essential role in this case. Finally, human rights tell us the freedom of everyone choice in focusing their own passion. For instance, people has legal rights to assert their purpose in acquiring education. To sum up, I personally think that preparing individuals to devote the society outweighs the other view in the term of education purpose.