Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is to travel or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Any language which is not officially spoken in a particular place is called a foreign language. In my opinion, knowledge of a foreign language has many advantages beside its use in travel and work. (34) In ancient times, people had totally unfamiliar with foreign languages as they had rarely travelled from one place to another or worked abroad. In the present world, the knowledge of a foreign language is necessary in order to meet the standards of International Institutions and Offices. It is necessary for the people, who are travelling abroad frequently or doing any kind of work there, to learn a foreign language in order to interact with new cultures and people and to get a reasonable job. (83) The recent advancement in Science and Technology has turned the whole world into a global village. Nowadays, many International brands and companies have opened their offices and franchises across the globe. While hiring employees, they demanded expertise in foreign languages in addition to academic qualifications. Similarly, in the field of education, all the foreign universities have set a certain language requirement for students seeking admission in higher studies abroad. Therefore, it has now become compulsory for everyone to have an additional skill of foreign language expertise. If the attitude of the world towards the language requirement keeps in motion with such zeal and zest, then learning a foreign language will definitely become the need of the hour in the near future. (119) Thus, in my opinion, the knowledge of a foreign language is not only an entry requirement for travel and work abroad, it is also a compulsory condition for anyone who wants to interact with the International community. (36)