Some people say that thebonly reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or work in a foreign country. Other say that these are not the only reason why someone should learn a foreign language.

Advertising has evolved over the last few years. It has been a debatable topic on advertising being the reason in the increase of the sales of certain consumer goods, which would not be needed by the society. I completely agree with his statement because advertising mainly targets the youth, which could easily be influenced. On the one side, there are reasons on why advertising cannot convince the customer to buy products which are not needed by him. Firstly, it depends on the spending power of the customer. This means, if the customer does not have sufficient funds he will not be able to purchase the product in spite of the strong mode of advertising used. In addition, with the advancement of technology, a customer has much more knowledge of the product and its benefits, an attractive advert would not be convincing enough for him to buy a product he would not need. On the other side, effective advertising to a large extend influences the choice of the youth, and make them buy products which may not ne needed by them. First of all, most of the adverts are focussed more on the youth. This is because the younger generation can easily get influenced, especially when they have public figures advertising a product. The youngsters fail to understand whether the product is needed or not. In addition, some of the adverts are available in every mode of communication, making it hard for a consumer to miss it. To illustrate, if there is a new iPhone launched, we see the advert across various platforms like Facebook, emails, Instagram etc. A continuous appearance of an advert can also influence the choice of a customer to a great extend. To conclude, advertising cannot always have an impact on all the customer segment to purchase products that would not be needed. However, the youth can be more easily influenced by continuous adverts which would influence their choice of buying products to a large extend.