Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is inorder to travel or for work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Globalisation presented us with the opportunity to work or travel to any part of the world. However, it is the opinion of few people that it is the only reason to learn a foreign language. On the other hand, others disagree their views on this and argue that there is more to learning. Though it is a controversial topic, I personally side with the latter. Travelling to various corners of the world and to work in a foreign nation are two very compelling reasons for a person to learn other languages beside their own. For example, I have a friend who works as a clerk in a bank in a nearby village. He never travels and most certainly doesn't need to learn a new language for his work. What I'm trying to say here is, most people don't bother learning a language that is alien to them unless, absolutely required. Conversely, there are others who believe that acquiring something new should not be simply limited to a couple of reasons. Learning in itself should be rewarding enough and of course it helps in better understanding of people. For example, a colleague in my friend's office studied German during his teenage years. Recently when upper management sent a German official, he was assigned to him and got promoted. The point here is he learned it for fun but it helped him in his career. In conclusion, my opinion on this issue is that, learning a foreign language should not be limited to just two reasons like work and travel. Learning something new must be exiting and fun. A particular quote comes to mind while writing this essay, , "It is better to have and not need than need and not have. "