Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

These days, mastering several languages is becoming more and more popular due to several reasons such as the Internet with its limitless world. Some people think that learning another language is related only to work or travel. However, others believe that language is wider than the concept of work. In this essay I am going to discuss both sides with reference to what I prefer. With respect to the first group, they believe that language is a tool to communicate with others. Therefore, mastering several languages is not such a beneficial issue. In addition, it is very hard to learn a foreign language that may be so different from your mother one. This requires a lot of effort and it is more likely to be forgotten if there is no practicing. Subsequently, this is a massive waste of time and money. On the other hand, some people think that learning how to speak different languages is a great chance to obtain knowledge about different cultures, which results in boardening your horizons and shaping your personality. It also equips you with the ability of dealing with multicultural situations and this makes you more efficient and flexible as a person. Hence, such a wonderful chance is not to be missed. With reference to all of those benefits have nothing to do with work or travel. Having every thing said, mastering another language may be related only to the work domain for some people due to the difficulty of learning it or the lack of time. However, it is very desirable for others because they can explore the world around them and interact with different peoples. In my opinion, it is very wonderful and impressive to be able to speak several languages. In addition, as this process develops your mental abilities, I believe it is not related only to the field of work, it can be such a productive hobby!