Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

There is an ongoing controversy over whether to use a foreign language for study or work aboard is the only purpose for studying it. Somebody don’t think that there is the objective other than to use it in other country. However, in my opinion, I believe that learning new language can be caused by several reasons such as entertainment and part time job. First, some people like to spend their time on the entertainments from other countries, such as computer games from and movies from Japan or India, but it will be more fun, if they understand the language used in those media. Because some of computer games and movies have no translated versions, learning the new language is needed for someone who want to make their leisure time more fun. For example, my friend, who obsesses with movies so much, want to fully comprehend his favorite Japanese movie, so that he study Japanese by himself from the internet. Now he can use Japanese well, and translate Japanese movie for others as a hobby, making him so happy that he can do what he likes for others. Second, a foreign language can use as a part time job that create more income for people. Nowadays, technology make it easy to create money from anywhere in the world and being a translator or a language teacher online takes not much time. Mobile application named “iTalki”, the platform that connects languages teacher with someone to need to learn them, is an example of this career. There are massive of languages available there, and tons of teachers, who can teach from even their bedroom. Clearly, learning language can create a job, even though that one doesn’t live aboard. In conclusion, there are many reasons to study new languages as described and I am strongly convinced that using those languages aboard is the only reason of knowing them.