Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

With the globalisation, our modern society highly evaluates people who speak foreign languages. However, although I admit that bilingual people have more chance to work and travel to foreign countries, I do not believe that it is the only advantage for people to learn a foreign language. To begin with, knowing a foreign tongue allows people to find a better job abroad and to enjoy travelling globally. In fact, there are a lot of students who newly graduated from universities and have difficulties to work locally where they were born and grown up. Being able to speak a foreign tongue, thus, can give people more opportunities to look for a job in other countries. Furthermore, thanks to the cheap flight companies, we can now travel abroad easier than ever before, that means going abroad is no longer limited geographically, but more likely to be psychologically. However, language skills also help us learn professional skills. Science, for instance, is more and more developing in daily basis and usually the academic papers on the study are published in English, so that more people can read and educate themselves. Likewise, many people today tend to study in foreign countries for further and better education that they cannot have in their own countries. Having a foreign language skill, hence, basically means that people can learn more in the countries that the subjects are well studied. To sum up, while some people believe that learning languages is good when they work and travel abroad, I believe that people learn a foreign language to educate themselves on the professional subjects they mainly major in.