some people believe that to be successful at a sport you need a natural ability and others think that hardwork and practice can make you successful.

It is often argued that in order to excel at a sport, one needs to be talented in such activity as opposed to rigorous training and dedication. In my opinion, I disagree with this view as I consider that talent is not the only factor to excel in athletics. On the one hand, some individuals have reason to believe that having a natural gift in a sport is all that is required to succeed in it. This is because, excellence in such activity comes easily and naturally without the need for tedious effort put into it. For example, a recent study conducted by the National Football Association in Yale university shows that students without formal training outperformed other students who received lots of trainings and practiced rigorously. Consequently, this shows that having the innate ability to do something trumps any form of training whatsoever. On the other hand, are some people who believe that continuous practice and working hard can make one good at athletics which I agree. They are of the opinion that even though an individual does not have prior experience or inbuilt ability to perform a task, such person can still excel. For instance, Michael Jordan, a renowned basketball player mentioned in his book that he never had any knowledge of how to play basketball, but only liked the sport and wished he could play it. For this reason, he started learning and practicing continuously till he became the best in the world. This shows that a person can achieve expertise at something over time. In conclusion, while others may vary in their opinion, I believe that working hard and training rigorously is the key to succeeding at a sport because even though one is talented in it, without continuous training, such talent can be lost.