Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that there are not the only reasons why someone should learn foreign language.

The language learning plays an important role in our education. However, people have different views about the purpose of learning a foreign language. Some people think that travelling or working is the only reason for learning a foreign language. For example, a good communication skill is crucial during travelling. Travellers plan their itinerary by coordinating with local people such as hotel reservation. Also, people can have a better understanding of local traditions and customs if they have learned their language. Consequently, they can adapt to the local culture and lifestyle. Furthermore, people can increase their employability and receive a better offer during the overseas job application. For instance, most of job vacancies at oversea require high level proficiency of the local language in order to communicate with local residents. However, others believe that sightseeing or employment is not the only motivation to develop a skill of foreign language. People can access more information or latest news aside from their own language. For example, if people are competent to read newspapers or magazine in other languages, they can gain knowledge from experts in the world and expand their horizons. Also, it is fun and enjoyment of watching foreign films without subtitles or listen to songs in a foreign language. In addition, a foreign language often consists of culture and history. People can enrich their culture and understand the historical events by learning a foreign language. In my opinion, I believe that learning a foreign language is not the only reason for travel or work, but it is the part of understanding a history and culture of different people.