Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

The process of learning a language is a long and arduous one, and the question of why people might inflict such torment on themselves is worth discussing. While some feel this pursuit is solely a practical one, allowing us to travel or live abroad, others see it as something more. One the one hand, there are those that see language as a functional thing. These people see the process of learning as a necessary evil rather than an end in itself. One example might be school children, toiling away at their books, who do not see any point in the language until they finally go on a school trip, at which point it all seems worthwhile. In contrast, we have the other group: people who, when they embark on the journey of language learning, take it upon themselves to live and breathe the language. These people immerse themselves in the culture. Whether from home or while abroad, they listen to music, access websites and even read books in the target language. For them the journey is as important as the goal. To people like this the process of learning the language has been a life enriching experience, even if they never set foot on foreign soil. In conclusion, although for some learning a language will forever be connected to the aim of visiting or working in another country, for others it has clear benefits right here at home. I certainly belong to the latter group, as what I have gained from the experience of learning English goes far beyond simple tourism or employment.