Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

In the modern era, globalization has become an essential part of everyday life. It is often said by some that learning another language is only because of travelling or working, however, others claim that there are more reasons why people ought to learn a second language. In this essay, I will examine both sides of the argument and express my support for the latter view. Generally speaking, the are a wide range of reasons why people believe that travelling or working overseas are only reasons for learning another language. Perhaps, the main reason why people are in favour of this idea is because they are less likely to be in contact with foreigners who are not be able to speak their language. For instance, if people reside in a city where tourists are not visiting, they can feel as if it is unnecessary to learn another language. In addition, learning a language takes a lot of practice and studying which require the tremendous amount of time. As a result, it can be thought hard to learn a foreign language. Despite these arguments, there is also a case for the idea that people should learn another language besides working or travelling. Furthermore, knowing another language enables people to understand the research that has been conducted in a foreing language. Unlike in the past, due to the internet, lots of information have been made available. Secondly, knowing a second language has many benefits to the brain. For instance, this learning process improves the neural connections in the brain, thus lowering the risk of diseases such as Alzheimer's Disease or dementia. In conclusion, this is a topic which raises strong passions on both sides and having considered both sides of the issue. I would argue that learning another language improves the academic performance, and the likelihood of certain diseases. I agree other reasons why a person should learn a language.