Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel to or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Although it is commonly said among certain individuals that the prime aim of learning international language is for work or better still to travel. Others, however, belief that the purpose for learning it goes beyond these two reasons. This essay will discuss both sides and also state my view. Firstly, due to the advent of technology and also the century where we live, we cannot afford to remain in our home country without visiting other countries. People that take up a job or travel to other nations need to learn their language so as to Foster good relation and to make their lives easy. For example, the majority of Hausa people in Nigeria do not understand any other language expect Hausa. In order for foreigners lives to be easy, learning their language will be additional benefit. This will result in smooth trade, good negotiation skills and conservation of money for the visitors. In addition to the above reasons, people also master other languages for diplomacy. I could remember in 2013 when one of the Kings in Arabic nation visited Nigeria, the government looked for a Nigerian that was skillful in Arabic language for interpretation from English to Arabic language. This has resulted in smooth communication and understanding between the two leaders. Moreover, inter-racial marriage is one of the reasons why people have knowledge of another language. For example, if you are interested in a lady that is not from your race, you have to learn her language. For instance, it is now a commonplace for Nigerians to marry from United States. As a result of this(marriage), they have to understand their language. In conclusion, while some people learn a language to earn a living or to travel and others for entirely different purpose. On balance, I believe the sole aim of learning an international language should be individualised rather than generalised.