Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel or to work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone would learn a foreign language.

Momentarily, it is a heated debate on the usefulness of a foreign language. Some intellectuals perceive that the people intended to work or travel should learn the language of abroad. While, others opine that there are several causes to learn a foreign language. This essay will discuss both the views, along with my opinion further. To begin with, the former view of emphasis the need of communication at workplaces and holidays at the abroad. By overcoming the language barrier an individual could effectively work or enjoy the travelling. For instance, the miscommunication due to lack of awareness of the language may raise the conflicts for the employee at the workplace. Moreover, the communication in the foreign language would be a boon for the tourists to understand other cultures and traditions. Thus, the foreign language will play crucial role in the lives of the people abroad for work and travel. On the other hand, the latter viewed depicts the need for the new language to enrich the skills of the people. The foreign language will helpful to aboriginal people to utilise the literature of the other cultures. As a result, the foreign language will be a key factor for the enhancement of the society. For example, many research papers are published in the English language, which will be read by people from all over the world by knowing this language. Thus, the development of the society new language should be imparted. In conclusion, the need of the hour is to access many languages of the people will be fruitful to the community. Such agenda is satisfying the formation of the world into a global village. In my opinion, the latter view is a predominant cause for the people to learn a foreign language.