Some people say that the only reason for learning a foreign language is in order to travel o or work in a foreign country. Others say that these are not the only reasons why someone should learn a foreign language.

Studying a new language is thought to be needed just to travel and get a job abroad. Meanwhile, I am of the opinion that there are other aspects of learning a foreign language that can be advantageous for people all around the world. In this essay I will discuss both views. Being able to speak, read, write and listen to other language is mandatory to work abroad. Is, in addition, a requirement to apply for the job. For instance, a physician on call has to definitely know how to communicate with patients and nurses to be understood correctly and prevent fatal errors. In regards to travelling overseas, it is essential to understand what you see, not only signs in the streets, but also menus at restaurants for example. Express what you need and understand what it is being told to you can be amazingly fulfilling as a tourist. In spite language is key to travel and work abroad, these are not the only reasons someone would want to learn a foreign language. Even without leaving your country, a huge amount of updated information, guidelines, articles and newspapers are written in a different language, therefore, to keep up with the advances and evolution in many professions it is essential to study languages. Furthermore, it has been proved that learning new skills, such as languages at any age can exercise different parts of the brain achieving more neuronal connections and hence, more intelligence. In conclusion, whereas the two main reasons to learn a foreign language are working and visiting abroad, I believe it is also needed to keep up-to-date at work and it is truly important to our brain`s health. Thus, languages should be taught in every university and in job offices as well as part of the regular program to improve people's skills and brain function.