Some people believe that the range of technology available to individuals today is increasing to the gap between poor people and rich people, while others say this is an opposite effect.

People have different views about whether the emergence of technology nowadays, has bridged the gap between rich and poor or vice versa. However, in my viewpoint, it has been playing its part to integrate people belonging to different economic levels. At the outset, in my view, a transition of a decreasing difference between different economic groups has stemmed due to the invent of technology. Smartphones with the internet facility, once a luxury and not an affordable item, nowadays, have enabled everyone to make relations with each other regardless of their economic status. For instance, it is a common sight to see renowned celebrate such as Mr Amitabh Bachchan and a common rickshaw puller to use the same social media platform like Tweeter. Moreover, the mass production, which is the result of industrialisation, has made it possible to wear similar clothes such as Levis, to use the same vehicles and to have similar household appliances such as television. Otherwise, in the past, these things were not affordable for less privileged people due to high manufacturing cost. On the other hand, the major culprit behind the increment of the gap between rich and poor is also technology in the case of labour work. Firstly, washing machines and dishwashers have replaced domestic servants especially, in the urban areas, whereas this advancement has become commonplace in the rural areas. Secondly, in the case of the agricultural industry, the entire manual labour has become obsolete because of the increasing popular machinery used for spraying, cutting and watering the crops. To cite an example from my own experience, advanced tractors are used for ploughing the fields instead of manual workers, and it has given the benefit to the farmers because they can get more work done at less cost. In conclusion, while in a few sectors, technology has widened the gap between poor and rich, overall it seems more advantageous to bring different individuals closer, I believe.