Some people say that the Internet is bringing people together by making the world smaller. Do you agree that the Internet is making it easier for people to communicate with one another?

Since its invention, the Internet has affected the way people communicate. Some argue that its influence on the way we communicate is largely negative. However, I believe that the Internet has greatly increased the possibilities for interaction. Some people say that even though so much information is available through the Internet, nobody is really processing all this information. Nevertheless, everyone would have to agree that the Internet appears to make communication between people much easier. In the past, it was difficult to find out information about organisations and current events. However, in modern society most professional organisations have their own websites and events are constantly updated on the Internet. This has meant that receiving information has become a lot easier. Before the Internet age, the only way people could communicate in writing with others was by writing and sending letters. Now, with the invention of internet-based email, communication is fast and cheap. Taking advantage of this development means that people can keep in touch on a more regular basis. Although this has meant that users now spend long periods of time in front of their computer screens and may not be involved in as much spoken communication as before, I would argue that the Internet has actually increased the amount of communication between people – it is only that the means of communication has changed from more spoken language to written communication. In summary, it can be seen that the Internet has had a positive effect, giving people the opportunity to communicate more easily and frequently with others.