Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment

With the rapid development of technology, television has become a highly use electronic appliances. Many people believe that this can be more useful as a knowledge sharing device while others argue that it is more useful for entertainment. This essay will discuss why televisions are helpful in education but why it is more considered as a device for entertainment. During the last few decades, television and broadcasting technologies have evolved significantly. Now there are myriad number of channels are available for users of any age range. It is now really easy to watch and learn information about other countries around the world. For example, people can learn lot about other countries and their distinct cultures by watching National Geographic Channel. Hence, TV is considered as an ideal device to educating people in certain demographics. However, people are more focused on profits and economic growth in the current gaolable context. Therefore, channel producers are tending to fulfil the needs of majority. Despite the importance of learning, many people use TVs to release their stress by watching movies, music videos or other entertaining reality shows. For instance, one of the largest TV channels in Sri Lanka only has one dedicated channel for education. But they have 12 other channels for entertainment. Surprisingly, that only channel does not make any profits while other channels are at their top. In conclusion, with the increasing popularity of the televisions, its usage has become debatable. This essay discussed why TV has educational benefits but why it is ultimately catered for audience who are more likely to use it for entertainment. In my opinion, even though TV brings knowledge to one's life, it is widely used for entertaining.