Many parents complain that computer games have no value to their children’s studies. On the contrary, those online games have produced a lot of negative effects on their mental and physical development. What is your opinion?

The upsurge of popularity of computer games among young teenagers has raised several concerns regarding the academic performance of young teenagers. The impact of these games on the juvenile minds has been seen by some parents as a positive outcome in terms of educational value, while the physical and psychological issues associated with them are not worth ignoring. Being an education activist myself, I staunchly believe that the computer games have a negative impact on health and academic career. The promoters of video games often state that games have educational value and thus supplement the curricular activities. There certainly are some games with educational content which cater invaluable content to the students for boosting their educational performance. For example, the games involving puzzles and quizzes are helpful in balancing mental growth and enhancing the creativity of children. However, such games are rare. The majority of popular games available in the markets involve war games. There have been the incidents where several children have failed to perform well in their academic careers because of the game addiction. More often than not, the school children have suffered from several mental disorders due to the influence of the explicit content in some games that portray the extreme details of war activities using highly immersive experience of augmented reality. Such first-person engagement in games is likely to engrave in immature brains so subtly that, the children develop the tendency to engage in delinquencies such as gang fights, arson and even murder in extreme cases. Moreover, the side-effects of games have also affected the health of the younger generation. Sitting idle throughout the prolonged game sessions in front of the console induce health hazards such as obesity, diabetes and cardiovascular disorders. While, the educational games are imparting creativity in the children’s brains, the more serious concern is the detrimental effect of violent games which are more popular. In my opinion, negative effects are more prominent than the beneficial ones so stakeholders should ensure that the games are distributed properly targeting the sales based on the age.