Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful only for entertainment.

It is often argued that television could be used utilized as an education tool, while others say that it should only be used as a source of entertainment. Although some channels broadcast show to educate people, I feel that most of the channels are aimed at entertaining people. On the one hand, some people suggest that television is helpful to educate the public. This is because there are some channels which telecast documentaries on different cultures, wild animals and historical places which are unknown to many people. Thus, people enhance their knowledge by sitting at home by watching this kind of programs. For example, in India 34% of people reported that through channels such as Discovery Net, The Animal Planet, they learn about different parts of worlds without visiting there. However, I believe that such educational channels do not provide vast knowledge as other sources such as books, hence, not appropriate to get deeper information. On the other hand, people say that it is only for amusement. Since in today’s time, people are working and they hardly get any quality to spend with family, television allows such time for families to sit together and watch it. That is why people consider it as a tool for recreation and for spending time together after a long tiring day. For instance, a government survey found that 55% of people agreed that they watch T. V for relaxing their mind from the stress of office work. Therefore, I am convinced by the idea of using television for entertainment. In conclusion, I believe that although some channels provide different kinds of information, it is limited and not too deep for expanding knowledge. Hence, television should be used for relaxing and bonding with family.