Some people think that childcare centres provide the best services for children of pre-school age. Other working parents think that family members such as grandparents will be better careers for their kids.

It is argued by some that close relations provide the most effective service of childcare, whereas others argue that childcare centres are the best service providers. However, my firm conviction is that grandparents are the best option because they can be fully trusted. This essay will critically discuss both views, before coming to a conclusion. To begin with, according to some people, childcare centres are perfect places to take care of children, when their parents are at work. This is because these institutions hire professionals, who are highly qualified in childcare, and are capable of nurturing the child in a perfect manner. For instance, as per a study conducted by the Medical Board in the UK, 78% of such centres in the UK hire employees, who hold diplomas in early childhood development. Despite, many incidents have been reported in the recent past, where children were physically punished in day care centres, which have become a concern for many parents. On the contrary, some people believe that close family members are the optimal solution. According to them, such relations can be trusted, thus, parents can assure that their children are safe, while being kept under such supervision. To illustrate, as per a research conducted in the USA, 62% of working mothers preferred to leave their offspring with grandparents, when they were at work. They have pointed out trustworthiness as the main reason for their preference. However, lack of modern technical knowledge of early childhood development can be a concern for some parents. To conclude, although there are contradicting views on proper childcare, I believe close family members are the most effective option since they provide the most trustworthy service compared to day care centres.