The only way to reduce the amount of traffic in cities today is by reducing the need for people to travel from home for work, education or shopping.

Nowadays, traffic has become a major problem, especially to the people who are living in the cities, and many have an opinion that this can be reduced if people stop travelling to their workplaces, education centres and also to shopping areas. I disagree with this viewpoint because shutting down things is not a solution to the problem. Firstly, there are many jobs or professions which cannot be done from home like the doctors, lawyers, daily-wage earners and salespeople. Moreover, they must be physically present in order to solve the major problems and this is possible only if they travel from one place to another. For instance, if the doctors stay at home without travelling to their work area, then there will be a major life loss. Secondly, if people sit down at home and do their shopping or banking transactions and also their daily work without even travelling to that place, then they cannot be socialized. Moreover, there won't be any face to face communication, due to this there are other major issues which people might undergo like health issues, psychological disturbances, the improper behaviour and mannerisms. For example, if children attend online classes for completing their education without going to schools or colleges, they will not have a friendly bonding with the teachers as well as with the fellow students. On the other hand, if people are not travelling from a place to another, then the jobs of many people will be at stake. Furthermore, this will lead to the downfall of many automobile companies and people will become jobless. Indeed, this industry adds one of the major contributions to the economy of the country. For example, the railways are one of the important modes of commuter, where millions of people travel in order to reach their destination faster, and if people stop travelling, then the train drivers and other workers will not have any work and the railways will be a major loss to the government. In conclusion, to stop the travelling is not a feasible solution, rather the government can try to expand the roads or also try to reduce the population in cities in order to lower the fast-increasing traffic.