Some people say that television is useful for education, while others say it is useful for entertainment.

Some would argue that television is beneficial for gaining knowledge, while others say that it is helpful for enjoyment. While some channels provide valuable information, I believe television is more advantageous for leisure. On the one hand, there are some educational channels which are very useful for children, such as National Geographic and Discovery. These channels provide current information about science, history and wildlife. If children watch such channels, they will have more understanding about the happenings on our planet. For example, in 2011, Canada started a special educational program that focused on Maths which proved to be very helpful for children especially, during their exams. However, I believe that due to the advent of modern technology, children are using the Internet more than television for educational purposes. On the other hand, television is deemed to be a source of fun and amusement. That is to say, people use television sets only to watch entertaining programs and daily soaps. This is because after a stressful day at work, many people like to listen to music or watch comedy shows just to have a laugh and relax. A survey done last year in India showed that more than 50% of the population used it only to relieve stress by watching movies. I believe that leisure and enjoyment are the main purposes behind watching television. In conclusion, although television provides educational information which can be beneficial for children, the majority of people watch it for fun and entertainment purposes.