A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. To what extent do you agree or disagree with this opinion? Give reasons for your answer and include any relevant examples from your own knowledge or experience.

Nowadays the core values of our existence has completely changed, there used to be an era when humanity and kindness was next to godliness. As above mentioned a persons worth has shifted from its individual character to material possession, social status and so on. In the following essay I will give an general idea of current societies thoughts. Our current society is trying its best to cope with the current pace of trends. Globalization has increased a competitiveness in each persons out there, be it to become a successful employ or to be in the top of business, to get promotion in work place everywhere its a competition. As said by Dalton 'only survival of the fittest' and each individual has taken it to their heart. I personally disagree with the fact of judging a person solely based on their social status and possessions, because in the long run its not wealth or material things that matter, instead a person has to be charismatic and honest. I had seen a person who had all the wealth he dreamt of, but by nature he is wicked and cunning. Obviously for the short period he was admired and treated well by the society but due to an unexpected crisis he lost all his wealth and possessions, he was shown with with harsh reality of being lonely and no one even bothered to care about him. He lead rest of his life in misery and ended up in jail for commiting hinaous crime. The point of view of society has actually led many individuals to burry their values and focus on accumulating more wealth be it through straight or crooked way. I hope their will be a shift in thinking of the society in the coming year so that the future generation can lead a peaceful life and help each other develop true personality like understanding, trust, honesty. These traits will not give an individual true happiness but will make the people in their surrounding content and bliss.