A person’s worth nowadays seems to be judged according to social status and material possessions. Old-fashioned values, such as honour, kindness and trust, no longer seem important. with this opinion?

Have you ever noticed the thinking process of a child, regarding toys? They always seem to want what other children have. It is as though, they judge them to be, perhaps cooler, because they have the so and so toy. It is no different in older people. Generally, a good suitor for marriage is judged to be “good” based on what he earns. It is as though humans have always been naturally judged by their possessions. However, I will not characterize honour, kindness and trust as old-fashioned. While these values are not actually worth money, they have always been the strongest basis of all of our relationships and life decisions. Therefore, I disagree with the above statement very strongly and this essay will explain why. No matter how far we all go in terms of tech and modernization, every human instinctively respects these values. What happens to the filthy rich couple, when one of them cheats? The money and status do not help. And, if the other one decides not to forgive the infidelity, they end up making the biggest decision of their lives. While money, social status and material possessions are initially important to most people- they are temporary. One of my closest friends got married to someone immensely wealthy, while she was in love with another person. The other person did not have much in life to offer to her but loyalty and commitment. Soon after, her husband got defrauded and his business went down the drain. What she prized the most was in fact temporary. Conclusively, values such as honour, kindness and trust are not old-fashioned, they still for the “code of ethics” of the greatest companies in the world. Although not looked at initially, they will always stand to be the basis of long-term human judgement.