Some people say that technologies such as mobile phones are disrupting social interaction.

All around the world, technology has advanced significantly. Due to technologies such as mobile phones, some believe they are having a negative impact on humans and social interacting. I agree with this statement and will outline why in this essay. Firstly, the technology sector has massively developed over many years, allowing people to have a different type of freedom, such as: communicating with friends and family worldwide, while others researching important information for studies. Although there are positives to mobile phones, there are also negatives. Due to the abundance of apps and features that are available nowadays, the mobile phone user can happily occupy themselves for many hours, therefore reducing interaction with each other. Another disruption that mobile phones have on social interaction is the large social media platforms like Instagram, Facebook and Snapchat that they have. Arguably, this is still a form of social interaction, however, there is a difference. Due to communicating via text message, people do not necessarily experience the one on one connection and emotion that you would feel when meeting in person. It is very important for humans to interact on a face to face basis in order to experience emotions, which result in a far greater impact on a person’s mood and personality, as well as building friendships with one another. To conclude, I absolutely agree that mobile phones are hindering social interaction and how people behave. It is so important for friends, family and people to mix with each other in person, as this can have a huge and positive impact on somebody’s attitude, personality and outlook on life.