Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

Climate change is a problem facing countries around the world as people start to realise the harm that they are inflicting on the Earth. One of the biggest concerns was the overuse of plastic. Some people determined that supermarkets and manufacturers are to blame and should reduce the amount of packaging they use. Others believe that it is up to the consumers to refrain from purchasing over packaged products. In this essay, both views will be discussed. On one hand, manufacturers are the biggest producers of goods and supermarkets help distribute and promote them. By reducing the amount of plastic and papers used, they can effectively reduce the pollution to the environment. For instance, manufacturers can use paper packaging for plastic milk cartons while supermarkets can promote the use of paper bags or recycling bags. The point that it is their responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging is certainly very compelling. On the other hand, it is the best interest of the manufacturers and supermarkets to attract consumers to buy their products. Packaging their products is one of the most effective ways to attract the attention of the consumers. If people truly want the manufacturers and supermarkets to reduce the amount of packaging used, they should boycott or at least buy less of the overly packaged products. Thus, consumers also have a vital role in solving this concern. In conclusion, it is believed that there should be a collaborative effort between the manufacturers/ supermarkets and also consumers in order to reduce the pollution from overusing plastics.