Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

Currently, people have different views regarding who should have the duty of reducing packaging of the products. It is argued by some people that supermarkets and producers should undertake the obligation for the decrease of packaging on their products. Other people, however, claim that consumers should avoid purchasing the consumer goods with plenty of packaging. From my perspective, I think it is imperative for both merchants and consumers to make efforts. There are some reasons why shopping centers and goods producers have the obligation to get rid of some packaging on the products. The first reason is that producers enjoy employing excessive packaging only to expand profit and increase company revenue. Many products are overpriced because of excessive packaging which causes damages to the overall economic development. For example, some simple food and drinks sold in some big supermarkets are covered and packed with a heavy and over-designed box. It is disadvantageous to make daily necessities too expensive, since this may lower public’s life quality. Hence, supermarkets and manufactures should take the responsibility to reduce packaging on their products. Nevertheless, some consumers should also be responsible to avert purchasing consumer goods with much packaging. This is because if their consumers do not take actions to protest excessive packaging, the producers will not stop. Once there are consumers buying over packaging products, there are demands from the business of packaging. Therefore, only when consumers stop purchasing products with exaggerated wrapping materials or boxes, can this issue be relieved radically. To conclude, it is clear to me that it is necessary for consumers to start rejecting to buy products with much packaging, since this is the radical method. However, it is also important for the supermarkets and producers to be aware of their responsibility of reducing excessive packaging on their products. Only when these two parties work together can satisfying outcomes be achieved.