Some people say that supermarkets and manufactures have a responsibility to reduce the amount of packaging on the products they sell. Others say that it is the responsibility of consumers to avoid buying products which have a lot of packaging.

In this modern era, over-packing of products seems to be a tactic used by the manufacturers in staying ahead of their competitors and maintaining their market shares. Products with excessive packing not only cost the consumers but also impact the environment in a negative way. Some people believe that supermarkets and manufacturers should be responsible for producing products with a lot of packing. Others claim that consumers should not pay their attention to over-packaged products. This essay will look at both views. Firstly, supermarkets and manufacturers should take responsibility to reduce the packaging of their products. As they are the main producers and promoters of all the products in the markets, so it is much easier for them to reduce the packaging instead of the consumer. They can apply simple steps and regulations over their manufacturing processes. For example, the drink bottles made with thick layers of plastic should be replaced with a thinner layer of plastic or carton bottles. This will reduce the amount of plastic waste and help the environment. Thus, it is a strong argument in convincing the manufacturers and supermarkets to simplify their packaging. On the other hand, customers also have a key role to play in this matter. They should consider wisely before purchasing over-packed products. If consumers reduce the consumption of over-packed products, the manufacturers will limit the production of such products. This will result in a decline in sale figures, which eventually leads them to change their packaging policies and requirements. Thus, customers should start banning companies which sell products with excessive packaging. To conclude, the trend of over-packing of products should be eliminated to help the environment and the purchasing cost. Collective efforts from both producers and consumers are crucial in tackling this issue.