Some people say that reading for pleasure helps develop imagination and better language skills than watching TV.

Many people believe that watching television is not as effective as reading when it comes to enhancing language skills and imagination. In my opinion, both ways of collecting information are good for people’s cognitive development in their own terms. In case of watching programs on TV, people could get certain intellectual benefits. For linguistic ability, audiences enjoy the language of a talk show or a movie mostly by their ears; therefore their listening skill would be affected and improved the most. This could be exemplified by those whose learn English by watching English movies on a daily basis, with the fact that their listening skills could improve gradually thanks to having that habit. For imagining skill, watching TV helps build certain pictures about a creature like a God or a beast in details of shape, size and color, which many people have certainly experienced in watching a fantasy movie. However, reading is also beneficial to our thought in other ways. If watching TV helps boost our listening skill, then reading helps make our reading ability better. Not only that, we also have a chance to understand the grammatical features of the language more deeply as well as other cultural characteristics of the civilization which the language is from. For instance, Japanese learners at basic level have to learn how to use many polite phrases in many different daily situations, and can easily discover that politeness is a bold part of modern Japanese culture. Besides, reading does contribute to expanding our imagination in abstract ways, about not only the appearance but also inner characters of a certain object or person, since we are not affected by any specific pictures of it. In conclusion, I would argue that both watching TV and reading have positive influence on people’s cognitive ability from different perspectives, and we cannot make judgment about which one is certainly better that the other.